Not filing Form 5472 costs $25,000 per year. We file it for $299.
form5472.tax
Form 5472 blog

Cheapest Form 5472 Filing Service in 2026: Every Provider's Real Price Compared

Updated October 2026 · Sources verified against current IRS releases · Reviewed by a Form 5472 specialist

cheapest form 5472 filing service 2026 — verified side-by-side price comparison of every Form 5472 provider for foreign-owned LLCs

The short answer

The cheapest Form 5472 filing is Edetax at $49.99, a self-serve tool that also faxes the forms to the IRS. 5472Direct is $199 ($248 with IRS delivery). form5472.tax is a flat $299, and 5472.io and form5472.ai list $299. form5472.online is $448–$547. Subscriptions cost more: Firstbase $899/year, doola $1,999/year. Prices last verified September 15, 2026.

Key takeaways

What does every Form 5472 service cost in 2026?

Prices run from $49.99 (Edetax) to $1,999/year (doola). Self-serve tools are cheapest, prepared-and-submitted filings cluster at $199–$299, form5472.online stacks fees to $547, and formation platforms sell the filing inside annual subscriptions.

Every provider delivers the same two documents to the IRS — Form 5472 and the pro forma Form 1120 it attaches to — and the IRS charges nothing for either. So the price is entirely the provider’s fee, and what separates the options is who prepares the forms, who reviews them, whether they are actually sent to the IRS for you, and what happens to the price when your LLC was active or you are behind on past years. Here is the full market, cheapest first. (If you are new to the filing itself, start with what Form 5472 is and who files it.)

Form 5472 filing services compared — single-member LLC (verified September 15, 2026)
ProviderPricePro forma 1120Sent to the IRSReviewLate years
Edetax$49.99 per filingGeneratedFax included, with receiptSelf-serveNot stated
5472Direct$199Included+$49 delivery add-onNot statedNot stated
form5472.tax$299 flatIncludedFax or certified mail, includedSpecialist review$299 per year
5472.io$299IncludedFax includedNot stated+$199 per additional year
form5472.ai$299 ($399+ with reportable transactions)IncludedIncluded, with confirmationNamed licensed CPA$399+
form5472.online$448 inactive / $547 activeNot stated+$49 submission feeNamed licensed CPA, signedNot stated
Firstbase$899 / yearIncludedNot statedNot statedNot stated
doola$1,999 / year + state feesNot itemisedNot itemisedNot itemisedNot itemised
Stripe Atlas$500 setup + $100 / yearNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed

Source: each provider's published pricing page, checked September 15, 2026. "Not stated" means the provider's pricing page does not say. Prices change — confirm on the provider's site before you buy.

We are not the cheapest, and this table does not pretend otherwise. Edetax and 5472Direct cost less, and two other services list the same headline price we charge. The honest case for form5472.tax is narrower: one flat $299 whether your LLC was active or dormant, IRS submission included, and the same $299 for every catch-up year.

What separates the $49.99, $199 and $299 options?

How much is done for you. Edetax is a self-serve generator that faxes what you enter. 5472Direct prepares the forms and charges $49 extra to deliver them. The $299 tier has a person prepare and review the return and submit it for you.

All three tiers can produce a valid filing. The difference is where the responsibility for getting it right sits. At $49.99, Edetax gives you a guided form and sends it: the answers are yours, and so is the risk that a related party or transaction is reported wrongly. At $199, 5472Direct prepares Form 5472, the pro forma 1120 and a statement, and its $49 IRS Direct Delivery add-on brings the delivered total to $248. At $299, the service prepares, reviews and submits.

What each price tier does for you
TierWho fills in the formWho sends itDelivered total
Self-serve (Edetax)You, guided by softwareEdetax, by fax$49.99
Prepared (5472Direct)5472DirectYou, or 5472Direct for +$49$199–$248
Prepared and reviewed (form5472.tax, 5472.io, form5472.ai)The serviceThe service$299 (form5472.tax); $299 (5472.io, form5472.ai)

Source: provider pricing pages, verified September 15, 2026.

Framed against the downside, the arithmetic is simple. A substantially incomplete Form 5472 is treated as not filed, and the penalty is $25,000 per form, per year. Paying $250 more to have someone else own the accuracy is about 1% of one penalty. For a confident repeat filer with one simple transaction, the cheaper tier is a reasonable trade.

Three services list $299 — how do they differ?

form5472.tax stays at a flat $299 per year, including catch-up years, with no activity surcharge. 5472.io charges $199 for each additional late year. form5472.ai names a licensed CPA but quotes $399+ for filings with reportable transactions and for late filings.

The headline price is the same, so the differences are in the conditions attached to it. The most important one for a foreign-owned single-member LLC is the reportable transaction: funding the LLC is itself a reportable capital contribution, so virtually every such LLC has at least one. A price that applies only when there are no reportable transactions will not apply to most filers.

The $299 services side by side
form5472.tax5472.ioform5472.ai
Headline price$299$299$299
LLC with reportable transactions$299$299$399+
Each additional late year$299$199 (filed together)$399+
IRS submissionIncludedFax includedIncluded
Reviewer named on siteSpecialist reviewNot statedNamed licensed CPA
Extras listedWhatsApp support in 6 languagesReasonable-cause statement; pay after you see the forms12-month notice monitoring

Source: 5472.io and form5472.ai pricing pages, verified September 15, 2026; form5472.tax pricing.

Which one fits

If you are several years behind, 5472.io’s $199 per additional late year is the cheapest catch-up price listed. If a named CPA matters most to you, form5472.ai is transparent about that, at $399+ once your LLC has reportable transactions. If you want one price that does not move with activity or year, that is what form5472.tax charges. See exactly what it covers on the pricing page.

Why does form5472.online cost $448 to $547?

Because the price is built from three fees: a $399 base, a $49 IRS submission fee, and a $99 activity fee if the LLC had any income or expenses. Its package adds a named licensed CPA signature, a zero-penalty guarantee and 12 months of IRS monitoring.

form5472.online is the most expensive per-filing specialist in this comparison, and it is also the most explicit about what it adds. The $547 figure applies to an active LLC. A dormant LLC with no income or expenses pays $448. Both include preparation and signature by a named licensed CPA, a zero-penalty guarantee, and 12-month IRS monitoring.

How form5472.online's price is built (single-member LLC)
FeeInactive LLCActive LLC
Base preparation$399$399
IRS submission fee$49$49
Activity fee (income or expenses)—$99
Total$448$547

Source: form5472.online pricing page, verified September 15, 2026.

The IRS does not charge a submission fee, so the $49 line is the provider’s own charge for sending the return. Whether the guarantee and monitoring are worth $149–$248 more than a flat $299 is a fair question to put to each provider. A side-by-side of the two is on the form5472.online alternative page.

How do doola, Firstbase and Stripe Atlas compare?

They are formation platforms that sell annual plans. Firstbase lists single-member LLC tax filing at $899/year, doola’s Tax and Compliance plan is $1,999/year plus state fees, and Stripe Atlas’s pricing page lists no annual tax filing at all.

Formation platforms are subscription businesses. Firstbasesells “Tax Filing (Non-US owned Single-Member LLCs)” as a standalone product at $899 per year, including the pro forma Form 1120. doola’s Tax and Compliance plan is $1,999 per year plus state fees; its pricing page lists business IRS tax filings among the plan features but does not itemise Form 5472. Stripe Atlas charges $500 to form the company, which includes the first year of registered agent service, then $100 per year for the agent. Its pricing page lists no annual federal tax filing, so Atlas founders need a separate filer.

Formation platforms and the annual Form 5472 filing
PlatformRelevant planPriceForm 5472 filing
FirstbaseTax Filing (non-US owned SMLLC)$899 / yearIncluded (pro forma 1120)
doolaTax and Compliance$1,999 / year + state feesBusiness IRS filings; Form 5472 not itemised
Stripe AtlasFormation + registered agent$500, then $100 / yearNot listed

Source: Firstbase, doola and Stripe Atlas pricing pages, verified September 15, 2026.

If a platform plan is costing you money only for this filing, moving to a per-filing service is the biggest single saving. See the dedicated breakdowns: doola alternative, Firstbase alternative, Stripe Atlas alternative, and the step-by-step switch from doola or Firstbase guide.

What does Form 5472 cost over three years?

Form 5472 is due every year, so multiply. Three on-time annual filings run from about $150 (Edetax) to $5,997+ (doola). At form5472.tax it is $897; at form5472.online, for an active LLC, $1,641; on Firstbase’s plan, $2,697.

A single-year price undersells the real decision, because the filing comes back every April. A foreign-owned LLC that stays open for three years files three times, and a subscription renews whether or not you use anything else in it. Multiplying each provider’s verified annual price by three, for a filing made on time each year:

Three years of on-time Form 5472 filings, single-member LLC
ProviderPrice per yearThree yearsAssumption
Edetax$49.99$149.97Self-serve; you enter the data
5472Direct$248$744$199 prepared + $49 IRS delivery
form5472.tax$299$897Flat, active or dormant
5472.io$299$897Headline price each year
form5472.ai$399+$1,197+Rate quoted for filings with reportable transactions
form5472.online$547$1,641Active LLC: $399 + $49 + $99
Firstbase$899$2,697Tax Filing plan, renewing yearly
doola$1,999 + state fees$5,997+Tax and Compliance plan

Source: annual prices from each provider's pricing page, verified September 15, 2026, multiplied by three. Prices can change between years; confirm before each renewal.

The ranking does not change, but the gaps widen. Over three years a doola plan costs roughly $5,100 more than a flat $299 filing, and Firstbase’s plan roughly $1,800 more. If either subscription exists only to get this one return filed, the full Form 5472 cost comparison sets out every tier, and the switcher guide linked above explains how to move without touching your LLC or EIN.

When is a cheaper Form 5472 service the right call?

When the filing is genuinely simple and you are confident. A truly dormant LLC, an experienced owner who has filed before, or someone who only needs the forms generated can reasonably use Edetax or 5472Direct and save money.

We would rather say this plainly than pretend the paid tier is always right. There are real cases where a cheaper service — or DIY — is the sensible choice:

When a low-cost service is reasonable
Your situationA cheaper option is fine because
A dormant LLC with one simple capital contributionThere is little to get wrong
You have filed Form 5472 correctly beforeYou already know the traps
You want the forms generated and sent, nothing moreEdetax does exactly that for $49.99

Source: form5472.tax editorial guidance.

A prepared-and-reviewed filing earns its cost in the opposite case: a first-time filer, several missed years, more than one related party, or simply wanting someone else to own the accuracy of the one form that carries a $25,000 penalty.

What hidden fees should you check at checkout?

Check four things: a separate IRS submission or delivery fee (the IRS charges nothing), an activity surcharge, the price of each late year, and an auto-renewing subscription you did not intend to buy.

A low headline price is often not the delivered price. Every trap below appears on at least one pricing page in the table above. Read the checkout, not the hero banner:

Checkout traps to check for
TrapWhere it appearsAt form5472.tax
Submission or delivery feeform5472.online +$49; 5472Direct +$49 deliveryIncluded
Activity or reportable-transaction surchargeform5472.online +$99; form5472.ai $399+No surcharge
Per-year late filing pricingVaries from $199 to $399+ per year$299 per year
Annual subscriptionFirstbase $899/yr; doola $1,999/yrOne-time flat fee

Source: provider pricing pages, verified September 15, 2026.

The rule we hold ourselves to is one price, with no base fee plus extras. See exactly what is included on the pricing page, or start on the apply page.

Is filing Form 5472 yourself really free?

Free at the IRS, yes — but a foreign-owned single-member LLC cannot e-file. It must mail to Ogden, UT or fax 855-887-7737, and one error or missed deadline costs $25,000, which makes “free” the most expensive outcome if it goes wrong.

The IRS charges nothing to file, so DIY is free in cash terms. The catch is that the form is unforgiving: there is no e-file route for a foreign-owned disregarded entity, the pro forma 1120 with Form 5472 attached must be mailed to 1973 Rulon White Blvd, M/S 6112, Attn: PIN Unit, Ogden, UT 84201 or faxed to 855-887-7737 by the deadline, and a substantially incomplete return is treated as not filed. The deadline is April 15, or October 15 with a Form 7004 extension. The penalty is $25,000 per form, per year, with no cap under IRC §6038A(d), and under §6501(c)(8) the assessment period for that year stays open until the information is filed.

DIY is the right call for a confident repeat filer with a simple return, working from the line-by-line Form 5472 instructions. For everyone else, weigh it honestly with our blog on Form 5472 CPA vs DIY. And to be clear about our own scope: we prepare and file the return, but we do not offer penalty-abatement or IRS representation — that requires a licensed CPA, EA, or attorney.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest Form 5472 service in 2026?
The cheapest is Edetax at $49.99 per filing: a self-serve tool that generates Form 5472 and the pro forma Form 1120 and faxes them to the IRS. Next is 5472Direct at $199 for the prepared forms, or $248 with its IRS delivery add-on. Prices verified September 15, 2026.
Which Form 5472 services charge $299?
5472.io and form5472.ai both list $299 for a single-member LLC, and form5472.tax is a flat $299. They differ on what moves the price: form5472.ai quotes $399+ for filings with reportable transactions and for late filings, 5472.io charges $199 for each additional late year, and form5472.tax charges $299 per year with no activity surcharge.
How much does form5472.online really cost?
form5472.online lists a $399 base preparation fee, a $49 IRS submission fee, and a $99 activity fee if the LLC had income or expenses. That is $448 for an inactive LLC and $547 for an active one. Its package includes preparation and signature by a named licensed CPA, a zero-penalty guarantee, and 12 months of IRS monitoring.
Why do doola and Firstbase cost so much more?
They sell annual subscriptions rather than a single filing. Firstbase lists Tax Filing for non-US-owned single-member LLCs at $899 per year, including the pro forma Form 1120. doola's Tax and Compliance plan is $1,999 per year plus state fees. Stripe Atlas's pricing page lists a $500 setup fee and $100 per year for registered agent service, with no annual tax filing listed.
Can I file Form 5472 myself for free?
The IRS charges nothing, so DIY is free in cash terms. But a foreign-owned single-member LLC cannot e-file: the pro forma Form 1120 with Form 5472 attached must be mailed to 1973 Rulon White Blvd, M/S 6112, Attn: PIN Unit, Ogden, UT 84201 or faxed to 855-887-7737, and a single error or missed deadline can trigger the $25,000 penalty.
How often do I have to pay for a Form 5472 filing?
Once a year. Form 5472 is an annual return: it is due April 15 for the prior calendar year, or October 15 if you file Form 7004 by April 15. A per-filing service charges each year you file; a subscription such as Firstbase ($899/year) or doola ($1,999/year) renews automatically. Over three years the gap between the cheapest and dearest options runs to thousands of dollars.
Does a dormant LLC still need to file Form 5472?
Almost always. Virtually every foreign-owned single-member LLC has at least one reportable transaction, and even the capital contribution that funded the LLC or paid its state fees counts, so it almost certainly must file even with no revenue. A dormant LLC is, however, the case where a low-cost or DIY filing is most reasonable.
What hidden fees should I check before paying for Form 5472?
Check four things: whether IRS submission is included or billed separately, whether the price rises if your LLC had any activity, what each late or catch-up year costs, and whether you are buying a one-time filing or an auto-renewing annual subscription.
What does form5472.tax's $299 include?
Preparation of Form 5472 and the pro forma Form 1120, specialist review before submission, filing by fax or certified mail, and written confirmation. There is no IRS submission fee and no activity surcharge, and each catch-up year is the same flat $299.

Related guides

Apply to fileStart your filing for a flat $299PricingThe flat $299 fee with nothing hiddenForm 5472 cost comparisonEvery tier, side by sideform5472.online alternativeTheir fee stack vs one flat pricedoola alternativeSwitch off the $1,999/yr planFirstbase alternativeThe filing without the subscriptionStripe Atlas alternativeAtlas lists no annual tax filingSwitch from doola or FirstbaseThe step-by-step switcher guideForm 5472: CPA vs DIYWhen each makes sense

One flat price, active or dormant, every year

Form 5472 and the pro forma 1120 — prepared, reviewed, and filed for a flat $299, catch-up years included at the same price. Or message us first; we answer every question.